New Years rEvolution

Posted: December 31, 2010 in News
Tags: , , , , ,

As 2010 comes to an end, it’s time to look back on the year and reflect upon what I did and didn’t accomplish. Business-wise, with Sykophunk Productions, I actually achieved nearly all of my creative goals, including finally getting my book of short stories published. My full-length album, Democalypse, wasn’t exactly a financial success, but a lot of people got to hear it and get a taste of the different artistic direction I’m going in with the new name, joe DOE: still a lot of beats and rhymes, but also more live instruments, more melody, more concepts behind the songs. The album also fueled some very cool remixes for my last release of the year, Seximer. I didn’t land any licensing or scoring jobs in 2010, but I did learn a lot about these aspects of the industry and got a good start on a catalog of music for such purposes. And, as predicted, I had very little time to write for this or any other blog.

Now it’s time to set some goals for 2011. I have tons of material in various stages of completion for more music releases, it just all needs to be organized and prioritized. During the first half of the year, it looks like I’ll be dropping 2 or 3 more EPs plus a mixtape. Plenty of stuff to keep you all fed while I work on my next full-length album, the second part of the Democalypse trilogy. I’ll also be completing my instrumental catalog and focusing some of my time on securing licensing deals and scoring jobs. And I’m thinking of resurrecting some old sykophunk personas, such as Dostah Shilailee and Mother Prick of Misery. Not goals yet, but very possible options.

Besides music, I have some writing goals as well, beginning with finishing my first screenplay. Of course, I have several ideas on the table, but I have one screenplay near completion, at least the first draft. I also have a number of short stories that I’ll be finishing up, possibly working towards another book. And Dark Domain: for the love of fuck, I need to compile my hundreds of pages of stories, outlines and notes into a comprehensive presentation. Dark Domain could be anything: book series, movie, video game – all 3. But first it needs to be presentable to any possible collaborators. This is something I really want to achieve by the end of 2011.

So, there is my ambitious outline of the many things I want to work on in the new year. If you were actually interested enough to read this entire post, thank you for your time and support. Stick with me throughout 2011; it’s apparently going to be another busy year for Sykophunk Productions.

Leave a Reply

