New Year’s rEvolution 2012 preview

Posted: December 30, 2011 in Uncategorized

Last post, I did a detailed recap of an absurdly productive 2011 for Sykophunk Productions. And we won’t stop, cuz we can’t stop… What’s in store for 2012? Allow me to break down the plans according to my various aliases and projects:

Joseph VanBuren – I will be reorganizing my licensing catalog, adding more tracks to it, and pursuing jobs in this area. I have already secured one gig as the Lead Composer and Sound Designer for the upcoming video game Precipice. I’ll most likely be bringing my man Randy (GrimWitcH) on board to collab for that. I’ll also be working on treatments for a few more screenplays and some new fiction and poetry.

Dostah Shilailee – There are some Dostah tracks in the licensing catalog as well. He’ll probably release one album in 2012 that nobody gives a shit about, yet somehow get song placement on a cable TV show (never mind, that already happened).

joe DOE – Jahg (Black-Jack) and I finished up the tracks for our collab album right before he was deployed for the Army, so that album will surface sometime in early 2012. There are also collabs with Christel South on the table; we’re hoping to have one song in particular released in January. As for DOE’s next two official solo albums, they will be the prequel and sequel to Democalypse. The trilogy will finally be revealed.

Triple Vision – We have been slowly but surely working on new material all throughout 2011. By the spring, we should have a mixtape and/or album ready for release, and possibly even a small tour to support the release(s).

Mother Prick of Misery – Anyone remember this? Well, my first screenplay features a band by this very name, and I’ll be writing and recording the songs to appear in the film. So even if the screenplay never goes anywhere, some MPoM music is likely to surface sometime in 2012.

Dark Domain – My oldest and biggest project. Every year I make progress on this work, only to find that it somehow grew beyond my former expectations. It’s a whole world of fiction, taking on a life of its own. Will 2012 be the year that this project finally gets presented to the world in some shape or form? Only time will tell.

Once again, from the bottom of my heart: eternal gratitude to all of my fans, friends and family that stuck with me throughout a sometimes rough 2011. Sykophunk is only getting stronger, so stay tuned for more epic awesomeness in 2012!

Leave a Reply

