New Years rEvolution: Sykophunk 2014 look back, 2015 look ahead

Posted: January 2, 2015 in News
Tags: , , , , , ,

If there’s one thing I can say about 2014, it definitely had highs and lows. Personally, I had some serious struggles early on in the year in the form of a near death experience, followed quickly by my forced departure from Triple Vision and an 18-year friendship, and then came all of the legal and financial repercussions of my poor decisions. And all of this while dealing with adjusting to sobriety.

There were times when I wanted to cave in and crumple up. But with the help and support of my awesome girlfriend and a handful of die-hard Sykophunk believers, I did not fall – I fought instead. Paid all my legal crap, completed 16 weeks of counseling, got my old day job back, paid off my defaulted school loan, went back to school full-time and got straight A’s in every class my first semester. BOOM! Considering the odds, I did amazing things. And I’m not bragging. I’m just saying that if I can do it, then so can anyone else that truly puts their mind to it.

And through it all, I somehow managed to work on new music, slowly but surely. I did enough shows in the summer and fall to introduce Sykophunk’s newest act, Project D.O.T.A. We also made several television appearances, and BL8 did some collabs and kept rocking stages into the winter. Life didn’t allow things to go as planned, but our determination and love for what we do assured that things did happen.

2014 was the first year since the inception of Sykophunk Productions that I didn’t release a new album, EP or mixtape. A few new songs surfaced at shows, online and as bonus tracks on the collection Random Acts of Epic Awesomeness. But it’s all good – as of this date, both joe DOE and Project D.O.T.A. are one song away from new releases. And we already have material partially written for other projects. There will be no shortage of tracks for 2015. And we shall deliver them with the raw and cerebral Sykophunk style – as life permits, of course 😉

I’ll be working on a new site for Project D.O.T.A. as well as updating sykophunk.com this coming week. We’ll be doing multiple weekly promotions on our social media pages, including instruMental Mondays, Throwback Thursdays and Sykophunk Saturdays. So keep your third eye open for awesomeness both new and old.

One final note on this look back & forward: if you actually took the time to read all of this, chances are that you are one of the few true supporters of Sykophunk, the music & the message plus the people… You kick major ass! Thank you so much for sticking with us, believing in the audacity of insanity a.k.a. true underground and independent methods. Real doom music, lol, but with positivity and truth hidden in the darkness. Despite the ups and downs, every year that we can do what we love to do is an amazing blessing! Here’s to another one…

– JVB a.k.a. etc.

Comments
  1. […] New Years rEvolution: Sykophunk 2014 look back, 2015 look ahead […]

Leave a Reply

